Posted in Rants and opinions

Is it possible to be selfless?

Most people are selfish. There are also some people who do incredible selfless things for other beings. Are they really selfless though? Someone once told me that people may pretend to care a lot about the ones they love, but in the end, they only care about themselves. I’ve always been an incredibly selfish person. I had a reason for every stupid thing I did, but I also started to question the reason behind every nice thing I did for someone. I realized that I had a selfish motive behind everything I did. 

Maybe I do good things expecting a ‘thank you’ in return so that I feel like they owe me something and I can use it as leverage later. Sometimes I do those things just because I want to make a better image for myself. Either way, I do it because I think that it’ll benefit me in some way. I noticed that if I didn’t get thanked for something I did for someone, I wasn’t satisfied. I started to think. What if every good deed, every work of charity, every sacrifice is made so that the doer benefits from it,whether he realizes it or not? 

If you say that there really are selfless people who do things exclusively for other people and not themselves, I don’t think there are. Sometimes they don’t even know that they’re helping someone for themselves until the need arises for them to use the receiver’s gratitude to their advantage. If you talk about religious people who do charitable deeds all the time, they’re doing it because they think it will get them closer to God. If there is an extraordinary politician doing good things, he just wants people to vote for him in the next elections. He’ll probably become a part of the politician stereotype and be a fraud after he’s won the elections. 

Everything a person does is for more money, a better image, a better life, better relations with family, a better anything which will benefit him in some way or the other, even if it is minute.  Humans were made selfish and there is no exception to that. Every selfless act is hiding a selfish motive. It’s not humanly possible to be selfless.

Now that I’ve popped this idea into your head, I hope you don’t waste too much time looking for the motive behind everything someone does for you. I do think it would be interesting to look for your own motives. You might be surprised by what you find.

Author:

6 words: I am the Queen of Awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

